Withdrawal is Fading

I’m not quite a week into my 99 days without Facebook, but I’m already beginning to notice my dependence fading.

This morning, I stumbled out of bed and cooked blackberry pancakes for my children. My seven-year-old is home for her first day of summer vacation since she finished a local day camp program, and she has been begging me to make pancakes with some of the blackberries we have in abundance on our property. I usually hesitate to make pancakes. They aren’t my favorite breakfast food, and I swear I am the slowest pancake maker in the world. From getting out the mixing bowls to taking the final cake off the griddle, it took about an hour.

But, I cooked them for my kids, mostly because my older daughter is old enough that she is making memories. Do I want for her to look back someday and remember me saying “no” to things, over and over, or for her to remember the times I said “yes?”

They scarfed down breakfast and asked for seconds. As I refilled their plates, I thought to check my calendar for today… but where was my phone??

My phone was still on the charger, an hour after I awoke for the day – something that never would have happened if I were still obsessed with staying connected via social media.

Usually, my phone would be in my hand before my feet even hit the floor in the morning. I often spent ten minutes or more reading posts or status updates online before rolling out of bed.

But today, I didn’t give my phone a single thought. Instead, I fulfilled the wishes of my daughter and invested in the relationships of three little souls that have been entrusted to my care.

Totally worth it.

One thought on “Withdrawal is Fading

  1. Sounds like progress! I have to say, I’m only at the end of my fourth day of ninety nine and I’m shocked at how little I think of it! I thought I would feel much more disconnected but…I don’t. Yet. I do, however, find myself reading less news…I’ll have to work on that.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

